Local legends in Queen’s birthday honours

Two local legends have been named in the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours List for Australia – Stanthorpe’s JAMES MASSEY and former Southern Downs MP – and current Goondiwindi Region Mayor – LAWRENCE SPRINGBORG. Both have received the Order of Australia Medal (OAM).

Congrats gents – and here’s their official citations from the Governor-General…

Mr James Thomas MASSEY…

“For service to the community through emergency response organisations”

Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES)

• First Officer, Sugarloaf Rural Fire Brigade, since 2010 , Foundation Member, since 1994, and Brigade Chairman, 2007-2010 and 2004-2005.

• Secretary, Stanthorpe Combined Group, 2017-2018, and Deputy Group Officer, Treasurer since 2018.

• Member, Liston Rural Fire Brigade, 1973-1994.

• QFES Air Observer, 2009-2018.

Queensland Rural Fire Service

• Member, Operational Strategic Working Group, since 2015.

Rotary Club of Stanthorpe

• Member, 2005-2008 and 1995-2003.

• International Director, 2006-2007.

Stanthorpe Agricultural Society

• Member, since 1978.

• Former Chairman, Fat Cattle Committee.


• Compere, Stanthorpe Apple and Grape Harvest Festival, since 2014.

• Foundation Member and Chairman, ArtWorks on Davadi (now ArtWorks Granite Belt), 2011-2013.

• Compere, Stanthorpe Agricultural Society, since 2018.

The Honourable Lawrence James SPRINGBORG…

“For significant service to the Parliament of Queensland, and to the community of the Southern Downs”

Parliament of Queensland

• Minister for Health, 2012-2015.

• Minister for Natural Resources, 1998.

• Member for Southern Downs, 2001-2017.

• Member for Warwick, 1992-2001.

• Member for Canavaron,1989-1992.

Party Positions

• Leader of the Liberal/National Party of Queensland, 2015-2016, 2008-2009.

• Deputy Leader of the Liberal/National Party of Queensland, 2009-2011.

• Leader of the National Party (Queensland Branch), 2003-2006, 2008.

Committee Positions

• Former Chair, Parliamentary Crime and Corruption Committee.

• Former Deputy Chair, Workers Pneumoconiosis Select Committee.

Awards and recognition includes:

• Honorary Life Memberships of Young National Party Australia and Liberal National Party of Australia.